Untitled Imaginary Society

Curated by Life Itself

Next Untitled Imaginary Society on 9/9/2021 with Jeremy Lent: Meaning, history and humanity’s future. Scroll down for more info and to sign up!

Subscribe to the Untitled newsletter and follow us on Twitter to keep up to date with the Inaginary Society program.

Untitled Imaginary Society is an online forum open to anyone to exercise our social imagination in practice and in theory.

Any social or political envisioning is constrained by an invisible frame: by the implicit values ​​and views on which it is created, now importantly its view of the nature of human beings. Any big vision therefore begins with a vision for the “Being” of human beings. And so we need to go back to basics if we are to rediscover our Imagination and create possibility for ourselves and our societies.

For example, much of modern economic and political thought rests on the assumption that you or I know what we want (think markets, democracy etc). However, most wisdom traditions teach us that discovering what we want is actually very hard and takes deep practice and reflection.

Untitled Imaginary Society in 2021 is hosted by Untitled Alliance member Life Itself .

Every online meeting has three parts: inspiration, conversation and documentation. Conversation part happens in small groups, and is a wonderful opportunity to meet fellow enthusiasts on social Imagination. You are also welcome to join only the first part. Warmly welcome!

Upcoming Imaginary Society Meet ups

9/9/2021 Jeremy Lent: Meaning, history and humanity’s future. Sign up to the event here.

1.5 hours starting at 8 am PDT | 10 am CDT | 11 am EDT | 4 pm BST | 5 pm CEST 6 pm EEST (HKI) 12 am JST | 3 pm UTC

Jeremy Lent, described by Guardian journalist George Monbiot as “one of the greatest thinkers of our age,” is an author and speaker whose work investigates the underlying causes of our civilization’s existential crisis, and explores pathways toward a life-affirming future.

His award-winning book, The Patterning Instinct: A Cultural History of Humanity’s Search for Meaning , explores the way humans have made meaning from the Cosmos from Hunter-gatherer times to the present day. His new book, The Web of Meaning: Integrating Science and Traditional Wisdom to Find Our Place in the Universe, offers a coherent and intellectually solid foundation for a worldview based on connectedness that could lead humanity to a sustainable, flourishing future.

In this session Jeremy will take us through his thinking, and explore what it might mean for humanity’s future in this time of crisis.

Sign up to the event here.

Past Imaginary Society Meetups

3/9/2020 VestAndPage: Changing the Gaze – Moving beyond anthropocentric imaginaries

Verena Stenke and Andrea Pagnes have been working together as a VestAndPage for over a decade, and gained international recognition for their work in performance art, performance-based film, writing, and publishing. Their work moves between the unseen and the unforeseen, the unsaid, the Forgotten, and the repressed; it has involved collective performance operas , and the creation of temporary artistic communities . They will remind us that to imagine differently is to see, listen, and relate differently. At the convergence of multiple crises, how can we change our gaze to imagine a different future?

1 4/5/2020 Gabriella Gómez-Mont: Imagination is not a luxury 

Gabriella Gómez-Mont is a film maker, visual artist, experimental curator & urbanist who fearlessly led the Multidisciplinary “Laboratory of Ciudad” bringing Imagination and creativity into the government of the enormous Mexico City. The session was Hosted by Demos Helsinki. Due to technical difficulties we unfortunately do not have a recording of the wonderful talk to share.

23/4/2020 Geoff Mulgan: The Imaginary Crisis (and how to Quicken social and public Imagination)

Geoff Mulgan is Professor of Collective Intelligence at UCL and a Fellow at Demos Helsinki. The inspiration for the meeting was Geoff’s paper on the topic . The session was Hosted by Demos Helsinki. Watch the recording on Geoff’s talk: