Untitled Imaginary Society

Curated by Life Itself

Next meetup: Thursday 3/9 with artists VestAndPage. Sign up here!.
1,5 hours starting at 8 am PDT | 10 am CDT | 11 am EDT | 4 pm LON | 5 pm CET  | 6 pm EET (HKI) | 00 am JST | 3 pm UTC

Untitled Imaginary Society is a monthly online forum open to anyone to exercise our social imagination in practice and in theory. We assume that our current capacity to imagine better societies is limited and it keeps us from being in control of the deep societal transformation we are in. 

The Society’s meetups in Autumn 2020 are curated and hosted by Untitled Alliance member Life Itself.

Every online meeting has three parts: inspiration, conversation and documentation. Conversation part happens in small groups, and is a wonderful opportunity to meet fellow enthusiasts on social imagination. You are also welcome to join only the first part. Warmly welcome!

Next Imaginary Society meetup

03/09/2020 VestAndPage: Changing the Gaze: Moving beyond anthropocentric imaginaries. Sign up!

Verena Stenke and Andrea Pagnes have been working together as VestAndPage for over a decade, and gained international recognition for their work in performance art, performance-based film, writing, and publishing. Their work moves between the unseen and the unforeseen, the unsaid, the forgotten, and the repressed; it has involved collective performance operas, and the creation of temporary artistic communities. They will remind us that to imagine differently is to see, listen, and relate differently. At the convergence of multiple crises, how can we change our gaze to imagine a different future?

Past Imaginary Society meetups

14/5/2020 Gabriella Gómez-Mont: Imagination is not a luxury 
Gabriella Gómez-Mont is a film maker, visual artist, experimental curator & urbanist, who fearlessly led the multidisciplinary ”Laboratorio para la Ciudad” bringing imagination and creativity into the government of the enormous Mexico City. The session was hosted by Demos Helsinki. Due to technical difficulties we unfortunately don’t have a recording of the wonderful talk to share.


23/4/2020 Geoff Mulgan: The Imaginary Crisis (and how to quicken social and public imagination).
Geoff Mulgan is Professor of Collective Intelligence at UCL and an Fellow at Demos Helsinki. The inspiration for the meeting was Geoff’s paper on the topic.  The session was hosted by Demos Helsinki. Watch the recording on Geoff’s talk: